• 01822 614231
  • office@tavistockcollege.org
Tavistock College - Together: we care, we challenge, we excel


PE Information

PE Blog

Tavistock Athletic success at Plymouth and West Devon Championships

Posted: 15 June 2017

We took a 37 strong Athletics squad (Year 7-10) to Brickfields yesterday to compete in this tough competition.

This involved students competing in a range of events in running, throwing and jumping disciplines. The students straight from the first event, competed outstandingly well and managed to collect 18 top 2 finishes.

There were so many fantastic performances, but in particular some students managed to achieve across different events.

Becky McArthur (Year 9) won the 75 metres hurdles and then helped Eggbuckland relay team win their race, as they had only three runners.

Jack Plummer (Year 9) won the discuss and then finished 2nd in the 800 metres. This was a brilliant race with Jack clawing back a 40 metre deficit on the leader just to narrowly miss out on the victory.

Emily Frost (Year 10) showed her sprinting prowess with 2nd in the 100 metres and then helping the 400 x 100m relay girls team to also finish 2nd.

Leon Bray (Year 9) demonstrated an excellent all round athletic ability. Winning his 80 metres hurdle race with ease and finishing 3rd in the high jump. He then followed this up with a powerful 2nd leg in the 4 x 100m relay to help the Year 9 boys win the race.
All the students were superb and as always performed with commitment and the highest standards.

Selected results


Junior Girls – 75m – Becky McArthur – 1st
Junior Boys – 80m – Leon Bray 1st, Tyler Hunt 2nd

800 metres

Junior Boys – Jack Plummer – 2nd, Joe Dix – 5th

100 metres

Year 7 boys – Ben Bryant – 2nd
Junior Boys – Josh Monk – 1st (heat)
Inter girls – Emily Frost – 2nd

400 metres

Inter boys – Gabriel Schreibman – 2nd

1500 metres

Junior boys – Will Russell – 2nd, Dan Luckham – 4th

200 metres

Year 7 girls – Maddie Nettleship – 2nd (heat)
Inter girls – Olivia Kinnear – 2nd (heat), Mia Cole – 2nd (heat)
Inter boys – Gabriel Schriebman

Triple jump

Inter girls – Sophie Isaacs – 2nd, Lauren Harvey – 3rd


Junior boys – Jack Plummer – 1st

4 x 100m relays

Inter boys – Connor Johnson, Leon Bray, Ollie Thursby, Josh Monk – 1st
Inter girls – Olivia Kinnear, Issy Hillier, Mia Cole, Emily Frost – 2nd

These are outstanding results – please congratulate all involved.

Year 8 Athletics Success

Posted: 15 June 2017

Last night the Year 8 athletics team competed against schools in the Plymouth and West Devon area. There were some outstanding individual performances, as well as both the boys and girls teams working together to perform to the highest standards. This was also combined with fantastic support of each other.

This was reflected in the girls finishing 6th and the boys 4th in the team competition.

There were many top two finishes and all the results are listed below.

In particular – Izzy Bray with an outstanding endurance run finished 3rd in the 800m and then jumped over 7 metres to 2nd in the triple jump.

Jacob Bevan, Charlie Elkington and Tyler finished 2nd in the 100m, 200m and hurdles respectively and then powered the boys relay team to 2nd.

Tabitha Myler – finished 2nd in the high jump.

Joe Dix – finished 3rd in the high jump and then paced the 800m perfectly to win the final.

Will Russell – gave an endurance masterclass to win the 1500m final by half a lap.

Year 8 boys results

Hurdles – Tyler Hunt 2nd (final)
100m – Jacob Bevan 2nd (final)
200m – Charlie Elkington 2nd (final)
300m – Dan Luckham 4th (heat)
800m – Joe Dix – 1st (final)
1500m – Will Russell – 1st (final)
4 x 100m relay – 2nd
Javelin – Seth Waycott – 6th
Long Jump – Freddie Fuller – 5th
High Jump – Joe Dix – 3rd

Year 8 girls results

Hurdles – Charley Mudge – 4th (heat)
100m – Grace Baker – 3rd (final)
200m – Charlotte Myler – 3rd (heat)
300m – Shannon Bray – 3rd (heat)
800m – Izzy Bray – 3rd (final)
1500m – Abi Whitehead – 4th (final)
4 x 100m relay – 3rd
Triple Jump – Izzy Bray – 2nd
High Jump – Tabitha Myler – 2nd
Long jump – Grace Maczugowska – 6th.

All the students performed with high levels of commitment and as always were a credit to the college. The pride in their desire to achieve and also support others was outstanding.

Tavistock win Year 7 Devon co-operative schools football tournament

Posted: 30 September 2016

Year 7 football team win the Devon Co-operative school football tournament!!!

We entered two Tavistock football teams into this 16 team competition. The two groups for our teams comprised of 6 teams.

In the five group games both teams finished with records of Won 4 Drew 1 Lost 0 and won their respective groups. The style of football and character shown by both teams was fantastic and very impressive. As you can see by the results below there were tremendous performances.

Group A results

Tavistock A 2 West Exe B 0 – Hayden Halfyard, Jack Hutchinson
Okehampton A 0 Tavistock A 0
Tavistock A 1 Holsworthy B 0 – Hayden Halfyard
South Molton B 1 Tavistock A 2 – Jack Hutchinson (2)
KEVICS 0 Tavistock A 2 – Jack Hutchinson (2)

Group C results

Tavistock B 2 Budehaven 0 – Joe Short, George Mclaughlin
Okehampton B 0 Tavistock B 1 – Peter Walters-Fox
Holsworthy A 1 Tavistock B 1 – Ollie Mack
Tavistock B 4 Dawlish B 0 – Joe Short (3), Peter Walters Fox
Tiverton A 0 Tavistock B 5 – George, Joe (3), Peter

Quarter – Finals

Tavistock A 1 West Exe 0 – this was a close game, but Tavistock always had the edge and a brilliant close range finish by Jack Hutchinson from a Matt Brimacombe cross decided the game against the reigning champions.

Tavistock B 0 Okehampton A 0 – this draw saw both sides progress due to a superior goal difference.


Tavistock A 0 Okehampton A 0 – Tavistock win 4-3 on penalties.

A very tense game saw very few chances. In the penalty shoot-out Owen Hicks saved two penalties to progress the team to the final.

Tavistock B 0 Cullompton 1

One chance decided this close game and the valiant efforts of the boys wasn’t quite enough. A tremendous performance to get to this stage.


Tavistock A 2 Cullompton 1 – golden goal.

Tavistock made a fantastic start when in the first minute their influential captain Matt Brimacombe crossed for striker Jack Hutchinson to score. The game continued to be close and Cullompton got an equaliser halfway through the game. There were limited chances for the remainder of the match, but a brilliant double save from Owen Hicks took the game to golden goals extra-time. One goal wins the tournament and after a scramble in the penalty area the persistent Jack Hutchinson shot into the bottom right hand corner of the net to win the trophy for Tavistock College.


Tavistock A – Matt Brimacombe, Owen Hicks, Branden Allen, Hayden Halfyard, Will Paxman, Ffin Clarke, Jack Hutchinson

Tavistock B – Joe Short, Charlie Brownlow, Ollie Mack, Fin Shaw, George Mclaughlin, Jay Spencer, Peter Walters Fox, Tyler Ewings.

Please congratulate all the boys involved they were an absolute credit to the college. Determination, teamwork and desire to achieve clearly on show.