• 01822 614231
  • office@tavistockcollege.org
Tavistock College - Together: we care, we challenge, we excel


The Governing Body’s primary role is strategic, focussing on raising standards of achievement, establishing high expectations and promoting effective teaching and learning, so that students fulfil their potential. The Governing Body’s prime accountability is to ensure that the College has effective safeguarding (child protection) policies in place that are in accordance with guidance issued by the Secretary of State, the LA and any locally agreed inter-agency procedures.

To contact individual Governors please mark for their attention and write care of the College or email office@tavistockcollege.org who will forward it on.

Our Governors

Ralph Crook

Chair - Co-opted Governor

I believe all students should have equal opportunities and a safe and fun learning environment to succeed, this is why I am a governor.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Dr Tim Alexander

Vice Chair, Vice Chair of Resources Committee - Co-opted Governor

My children have had a great experience at Tavistock College. I hope to support the College in being an enjoyable and nurturing environment for staff and pupils, helping the College to continue to improve academically while still supporting the breadth of experience beyond the curriculum that the College offers.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Philip Sanders

Chair of Resources Committee - Co-opted Governor

I want to ensure our young people get the best possible start in life by getting a broad based education.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Nigel Larcombe-Williams

Co-opted Governor

As a Governor I want to support good staff to do good things and support the school to give every child a rounded and challenging education so that our young people at Tavistock College have as many options as possible going forward.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Julie Stevens

Member School Improvement Committee - Co-opted Governor

High quality education for young people is vital if they are to become responsible, independent and happy adults and it is why I am a governor.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Caroline Jordan

Vice Chair School Improvement Committee - Co-opted Governor

I am a new governor with a lot to learn. I am a social worker in Tavistock, have children going into years 7 and 13 and am committed to working towards the further improvement of the school.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Sean Sweeney

Member School Improvement Committee - Co-opted Governor

School improvement is a thrill and I want to be part of celebrating Tavistock’s continuing success.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Andrew Willetts

Member Resources Committee - Co-opted Governor

I want to be a governor so I can use my experience as a lawyer to help the college develop as a centre of excellence for the future and put something back into my local community.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Stuart Ridley

Chair School Improvement, Safeguarding Lead - Co-opted Governor

I believe my experience as a school governor, together with professional expertise as a teacher and in leading SEN and Safeguarding, will enable me to support the staff at Tavistock and help the students to achieve to the very best of their ability.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Adam Reid

Co-opted Governor

I am particularly engaged in forging closer links between the two schools, and as the Governor with oversight for marginalised and hard-to-reach families hope that I can support the college in the excellent work that they are already doing in this respect

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Tim Randell

Member Resources Committee - Parent Governor

I feel I can offer the school my 35 years experience in senior management, commercial sales & marketing, PR and publishing. It is in the nature of the magazines that I publish locally that I am very focused on all aspects of the community of West Devon that the school serves. In addition I have a daughter at the school which makes me particularly keen to see that the school is successful and achieves the very highest education standards.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Susan Miller

Member Ethos Committee - Parent Governor

I have a long standing history with Tavistock College, from my uncle that was in the very first intake when the doors where opened, to being a student, to now being a parent, I have watched as the college has changed, advanced, and taken great leaps, and this is what has drawn me to becoming a parent governor to ensure a great future for the college and it's students.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Jo Solman

Member School Improvement Committee - Staff Governor

I was a student and am the 3rd generation of my family to attend this school. I have an invested interested in how we operate within this community and the positive impact we have now and for the future.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 31/12/2021

Sue Jerrett

Member Ethos Committee - Staff Governor

I have been employed at the college in an administrative role since 2002. In that time I have worked in various areas within the college

All 3 of my kids had an excellent education at Tavistock college and are successful teachers in their own right. Over the years here at the college I have been involved in many extra-curricular activities and I enjoy accompanying trips / visits / activities when my workload allows.

As a staff governor I will be able to become an integral part of the team entrusted to take our college forward in these very challenging times but equally exciting times as part of the Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust. We must ensure that we take full advantage of our current situation and build on all the positive aspects within the college to develop ourselves as the hub of the local community and a driving force within the MAT. We must continue to provide all our students with equal opportunities enabling them to achieve great success within the excellent framework that the staff at the college, both academic and support, provide on a daily basis.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 17/04/2022

John Bright

Co-opted Governor

It seems like I’ve spent my entire working life serving others; seven years as a bank official, ten years as a police officer and twenty three years as a teacher. Interspersed within that I’ve been a game keeper for two years and lived in Peru for a year as a part of an archaeology / anthropology expedition. Through all of my working life I have been a committed trades unionist, dedicated to helping and supporting colleagues. My career decisions have largely been made because I want to make a difference in the lives of others.

Although I understand the importance of rules and regulations - teaching and policing are full of them - I confess that I don’t like red tape! If something needs doing then I really enjoy finding a way to get it done. I've been very successful at that over the years.
Having retired from paid public service, becoming a school Governor seems to me to be a very logical next step. I want to make a positive contribution to my community, to be able to help, guide and support others and help influence decisions which can change our community for the better. What better way to do that than to try and make a difference in the way our young people prepare for their own futures?

School Governors are trying to do a difficult job nowadays, in an environment which brings little thanks and a lot of criticism, and I’d like to help.

Expiry of 4 year tenure: 17/04/2022

Safeguarding (Child Protection)
Stuart Ridley

Clerk to the Governing Body
Jay Hooper