Some great praise of our swimming young leaders

Dear Mr Forster,

I am pleased to write to you again at this time of year on behalf of Tavistock Swimming Club.

As you know on the 23rd April our club hosted the Tavistock Area Primary Inter-Schools Swimming Gala welcoming twelve teams from ten schools to Meadowlands. This event is organised annually by club Vice President Sheila Radgick, with the help of volunteer officials, comprising committee members, qualified parents and senior swimmers.

The pool hire and staffing costs, including lifeguard cover, continue to be sponsored by the management team at Meadowlands currently 1 Life. We have always appreciated this helpful gesture.
As most adult committee members are working, the galas could not take place without the assistance of our senior swimmers who volunteer their time, helping variously as marshals, time keepers and runners.

We value their assistance and are grateful to Tavistock College staff for authorising their release from school.

This year the young people from Tavistock College were

Year 10
Gemma Arundel, Jessamy Clemens, Jake France, Laura Meredith
Year 9
Sam Bates, Morgan Turnock
Year 8
Thanae Garland Tsirka, Ryan Lillyman

As in previous years they all worked hard in a professional, cheerful and enthusiastic manner, supporting the main adult officials in ensuring that the gala flowed smoothly and the primary school children enjoyed the experience. For some it would have been their first competitive swimming event. A friendly face, closer to their own age can be very reassuring.

It is very commendable that these young people from Tavistock College are willing to give something back to their sport, offering their services to give others the opportunity to achieve pride in representing their schools, while also experiencing competitive swimming.

I hope you will be able to arrange for this commendation to be recognised via their tutors and subsequently added to their records of achievement. Tavistock College can be proud of their exemplary behaviour. Yet again these students are a credit to their school and their families.

Thank you,

Sue Dunstan

TSC founder member 1990. Vice President